Thursday, July 26, 2012

Tracking College Rugby Changes

Here is a list of the all the changes to DI-A and DI-AA since last season. Bear in mind that lots of things on this list can change. In particular, a few conferences are down to only one or two members and will most likely be dissolved. Anyways, take a look:

RED=Subtraction, BLUE=Addition


Before: 25 Teams, 4 Conferences
After: 37 Teams, 6 Conferences (1 Independent)

  • Old: Army, Delaware, Kutztown, Navy, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers
  • Changes: Navy (Varsity Cup), Ohio State (DI-A Big Ten), Rutgers (DI-AA Empire)
  • New: Army, Delaware, Kutztown, Penn State
  • Old: Arkansas State, Life, Oklahoma, Texas A&M, Notre Dame
  • Changes: Oklahoma (DI-A Allied), Texas A&M (DI-A Allied), Notre Dame (Varsity Cup), Davenport (from DI-AA Mid-Eastern)
  • New: Arkansas State, Life, Davenport
  • Old: Didn’t exist
  • Changes: Texas (DI-AA Soutwest), Texas A&M (DI-A Mid-South), Baylor (DI-AA Southwest), Oklahoma (DI-AA Mid-South), Texas Tech (??), Sam Houston State (DI-AA Southwest)
  • New: Texas, Texas A7M, Baylor, Oklahoma, Texas Tech, Sam Houston State
Big Ten: (I know they won’t be called Big Ten, but until they get a name, that is what I’m calling them.)
  • Old: Didn’t exist
  • Changes: Illinois (??), Indiana (DI-AA Mid-Eastern), Iowa (DI-AA Midwest), Minnesota (DI-AA Midwest), Wisconsin (DI-AA Midwest), Michigan (??), Michigan State (DI-AA Mid-Eastern), Purdue (DI-AA Mid-Eastern), Nebraska (DI-AA Midwest), Ohio State (DI-A East)
  • New: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Michigan State, Purdue, Nebraska, Ohio State
  • Old: Air Force, Arizona, Arizona State, BYU, Colorado, Colorado State, Utah, Wyoming
  • Changes: Air Force (Varsity Cup), Arizona (PAC-12), Arizona State (PAC-12), BYU (Varsity Cup), Utah (PAC-12/Varsity Cup), New Mexico (DI-AA Independent), Northern Colorado (??)
  • New: Colorado, Colorado State, New Mexico, Northern Colorado, Wyoming
Pacific (now California):
  • Old: Cal Poly, Central Washington, St. Mary's, UC Davis, UCLA
  • Changes: Central Washington (DI-A Independent), UCLA (DI-AA PAC-12), Sacramento State (DI-AA Northern California), San Diego State (DI-AA Pacific Mountain West), Santa Clara (DI-AA Northern California), Stanford (DI-AA Northern California), UC Santa Barbara (DI-AA Pacific Mountain West)
  • New: Cal Poly, St. Mary's, Sacramento State, San Diego State, Santa Clara, UC Davis, Stanford, UC Santa Barabra
Independent: Central Washington


Before: 107 teams, 14 Conferences (1 Independent)
After: 99 teams, 15 Conferences Atlantic Coast:
  • Old: Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech, Maryland, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Wake Forest
  • Changes: Georgia Tech (DI-AA South Independent), Navy (DI-A East)
  • New: Clemson, Duke, Maryland, Navy, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Wake Forest
Eastern Pennsylvania (now Keystone):
  • Old: Millersville, Shippensburg, St. Joseph’s, Temple, West Chester
  • Changes: West Virginia (DII), Pitt (DII)
  • New: Millserville, Pitt, Shippensburg, St. Joseph’s, Temple, West Chester, West Virginia.
  • Old: Binghampton, Brockport, Buffalo, Fordham, Iona, Merchant Marine Academy, St. Bonaventure, Stony Brook, Syracuse
  • Changes: Rutgers (DI-A East)
  • New: Binghampton, Brockport, Buffalo, Fordham, Iona, Merchant Marine Academy, Rutgers, St. Bonaventure, Stony Brook, Syracuse
East Coast:
  • Old: Albany, Boston College, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Middlebury, Northeastern, South Connecticut State
  • Changes: None
Ivy League:
  • Old: Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Penn, Princeton, Yale
  • Changes: None
  • Old: Iowa, Iowa State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northern Iowa, Wisconsin, Wisconsin-Stout
  • Changes: Iowa (DI-A Big Ten), Minnesota (DI-A Big Ten), Nebraska (DI-A Big Ten), Wisconsin (DI-A Big Ten)
  • New: Iowa State, Northern Iowa, Wisconsin-Stout
  • Old: Bowling Green, Davenport, Indiana, Miami (OH), Michigan State, Purdue
  • Changes: Davenport (DI-A Mid-South), Indiana (DI-A Big Ten), Michigan State (DI-A Big Ten), Purdue (DI-Big Ten), Bowling Green (DI-AA Mid-America), Miami (OH) (DI-AA Mid-America)
  • New: Doesn’t exist
  • Old: Didn’t exist
  • Changes: Ball State (??), Bowling Green (DI-AA Mid-Eastern), Central Michigan (??), Dayton (??), Miami (OH) (DI-AA Mid-Eastern), Northern Illinois (??). Ohio (??), Western Michigan (??)
  • New: Ball State, Bowling Green, Central Michigan, Dayton, Miami (OH), Northern Illinois, Ohio, Western Michigan
  • Old: Baylor, Houston, North Texas, Rice, Sam Houston State, TCU, Texas, Texas State
  • Changes: Baylor (DI-A Allied), Sam Houston State (DI-A Allied), Texas (DI-A Allied)
  • New: Houston, North Texas, Rice, TCU, Texas State
  • Old: Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana State, Mississippi, Mississippi Sate, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vanderbilt
  • Changes: None
South Independent:
  • Old: Central Florida, Emory, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Florida State, Georgia Southern, Kennesaw State, Life B, Middle Tennessee State, South Florida
  • Changes: Emory (DII), Florida International (DII), Memphis (DII), Georgia Tech (DI-AA Atlantic Coast)
  • New: Central Florida, Florida Atlantic, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Georgia Southern, Kennesaw State, Life B, Memphis, Middle Tennessee State, South Florida
Heart of America:
  • Old: Arkansas, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Oklahoma State, Truman State
  • Changes: None
Pacific Mountain:
  • Old: Claremont Colleges, Loyola Marymount, San Diego, San Diego State, USC, UC Irvine, UC Santa Barbara
  • Changes: San Diego State (DI-A California), UC Santa Barbara (DI-A California)
  • New: Claremont Colleges, Loyola Marymount, San Diego, USC, UC Irvine
  • Old: Didn’t exist
  • Changes: Cal (Independent), Utah (DI-A West), Oregon State (DI-AA Northwest), Arizona (DI-A West), Arizona State (DI-A West), UCLA (DI-A Pacific)
  • New: Cal, Utah, Oregon State, Arizona, Arizona State, UCLA
Northern California:
  • Old: Chico State, Sacramento State, Santa Clara, Stanford
  • Changes: Sacramento State (DI-A California), Santa Clara (DI-A California), Stanford (DI-A California)
  • New: Chico State
  • Old: British Columbia, Eastern Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Oregon State, Simon Fraser, Washington, Washington State, Western Washington
  • Changes: British Columbia (Canada), Oregon State (DI-AA PAC-12), Simon Fraser (Canada), Boise State (??), Western Oregon (??)
  • New: Eastern Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Washington State, Western Washington, Boise State, Western Oregon


  1. Mentioned is a 'DI-A California' conference. What schools are in that conference?

    1. I accidentally left them off. It's updated now.

  2. UCSB
    San Diego St
    Sac St
    Santa Clara
    Cal Poly
    UC Davis
    St Mary's

  3. Teams intersted in playing in the Nor Cal D1-AA and/or D-2 are meeting this weekend to discuss and decide on the schedule for the upcoming season.

  4. American International College has joined East Coast Rugby Conference

  5. Thanks for posting this, hopefully administration in these leagues will be top notch to make it easier to follow along during the season.

  6. Where is Lidenwood next season? Surely they can't still be in D2