Saturday, January 12, 2013

7's Residency Contracts Announced

U.S.A. Rugby has announced which men's and women's Eagles 7's have been given residency contracts for 2013. In total there will be 16 men under contract, 13 of whom will be full-time along with three part-time contracts, and 16 women under contract, all full-time.

The men's team sees the return of veteran players Matt Hawkins, Colin Hawley, Folau Niua, Tai Enosa, Shalom Suniula, and Zack Test. Two players who were question marks just prior to the announcement, Maka Unufe (signed with an NFL agent) and Carlin Isles (falsely rumored to be training with Leinster), have also been given full-time contracts. Injured players Blaine Scully and Andrew Durutalo retain their contracts.

Take the jump to read more.

Add to the mix is Luke Hume. Since Hume does not have U.S. citizenship his salary will be entirely paid for by U.S.A. Rugby. Nick Edwards joins the team on the full-time basis, as does Jack Halalilo.

Earning part-time contracts with the team are Nate Augspurger, Brett Thompson, and Mike Te'o. Each showed a lot of promise while on extended trial with the team through the fall and these contracts will allow them to continue with the team.

As has been seen in years past, this last can change throughout the year but by and large these are the players that should be the core of the 2013 team. Head coach Alex Magleby will continue to bring in players on trial and as a part of his taxi squad. Former contract player Pete Tiberio is headed to Chula Vista next week to take part in training. Current Dartmouth star Madison Hughes is also set to train with the team, as is former Dartmouth player Nick Schwieger, who was cut by the St. Louis Rams. Gabe Adler, a player from San Diego, is also set to be the with team according to Rugbymag.

The Women Eagles 7's have also announced the 16 players that will have full-time contracts for 2013. Returning to the team are Bui Baravilala, Christy Ringgenberg, Katie Dowty, Kelly Griffin, Kaelene Lundstrum, Vanesha McGee, Deven Owsiany, and Kimber Rozier. Joining the team are Sadie Anderson, Emilie Bydwell, Ryan Carlyle, Lauren Dowyle, Vix Folayan, Hannah Lopez, Nathalie Marchino, and Jane Paar.

The women will continue to be led by Ric Suggitt and have a full schedule this year with the introduction of the Women's 7's World Series.

Men 7's:

Full-time: Andrew Durutalo, Nick Edwards, Tai Enosa, Jack Halalilo, Matt Hawkins, Colin Hawley, Luke Hume, Carlin Isles, Folau Niua, Blaine Scully, Shalom Suniula, Zack Test, and Maka Unufe

Part-time: Nate Augspurger, Brett Thompson, Mike Te'o

Women 7's:

Sadie Anderson, Bui Baravilala, Emilie Bydwell, Ryan Carlyle, Katie Dowty, Lauren Doyle, Vix Folayan, Kelly Griffin, Hannah Lopez, Nathalie Marchino, Vanesha McGee, Deven Owsiany, Jane Paar, Jillion Potter, Christy Ringgenberg, and Kimber Rozier.


  1. This is awesome news. Exciting times.

  2. Stop recruiting people who cannot be considered for the olympics or bringing in crossover athletes. America has raw talent in the grass roots environment that deserve to get exposed high level rugby competitiveness. They deserve it!