Thursday, June 7, 2018

Eagles Name Starters To Face Russia

Eagles head coach Gary Gold has named his starting line-up to face Russia in Denver on Saturday and it's a good one. With most players available--noticeably absent is Titi Lamositele--the team resembles what could be close to a starting line-up in the World Cup next year.

In the forwards Eric Fry gets the start for the first time in a long-time. Paul Mullen from the Houston SaberCats will be the other prop while Joe Taufete'e will start at hooker. The locks look especially dangerous. Both Samu Manoa and Nick Civetta represent two absolutely massive locks that can dominate the lineout and are excellent defensively. The back-row is John Quill, Hanco Germishuys, and Cam Dolan. The only name that wasn't available but could likely start is Tony Lamborn.

The backs also look incredibly strong. Shaun Davies and AJ MacGinty form the halfback pairing. That's a lot of good experience that should control the game well. You can also bet that MacGinty will want to have a strong game after being denied a chance to play for the Barbarians.

Take the jump to read more.
Like the locks the center pairing is enormous. Paul Lasike and Bryce Campbell could be the biggest pairing the U.S. has ever had. Blaine Scully will start on the wing along with Marcel Brache. Finding a space for Brache on the wing is a great move. That is where he has played in Super Rugby. Lastly, Will Hooley will start at fullback. The U.S. has been searching for a permanent fullback since Chris Wyles retired. They may finally have found that player in Hooley. He can kick and control the game well.

There is experience on the bench with James Hilterbrand, Ollie Kilifi, Chris Baumann, Greg Peterson, Ben Landry, Nate Augspurger, Will Magie, and Dylan Audsley. As Russia gets tired the U.S. should be able to capitalize with a lot of depth.

Forwards: Eric Fry, Joe Taufete'e, Paul Mullen, Samu Manoa, Nick Civetta, John Quill, Hanco Germishuys, Cam Dolan

Backs: Shaun Davies, AJ MacGinty, Marcel Brache, Paul Lasike, Bryce Campbell, Blaine Scully (C), Will Hooley

Bench: James Hilterbrand, Ollie Kilifi, Chris Baumann, Greg Peterson, Ben Landry, Nate Augspurger, Will Magie, Dylan Audsley

No comments:

Post a Comment