Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Final Teams Announced For CRC

Press Release

Today, the final three teams – Air Force, Central Washington and South Carolina – have been announced for the 24-team men’s rugby sevens field in the 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championships, set for Friday, June 1st through Sunday, June 3rd at Talen Energy Stadium in suburban Philadelphia.

Both Air Force and South Carolina return to the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship while Central Washington is making its second appearance in the national championship tournament after winning the West Coast 7s earlier in the regular season. The championship will be televised live by the ESPN family of networks and will feature the most television and digital coverage in the tournament’s history.

The three college programs complete the 24-team men’s field which features America’s best teams, including: Arizona (PAC 7s champion), Arkansas State, Army, Boston College, Dartmouth, Delaware, Indiana, Iona, Kutztown, Life, Lindenwood, Maryland, Mount Saint Mary’s, Navy, Notre Dame, Penn State, Saint Joseph’s, Temple, UCLA, Virginia Tech, and Wisconsin.

Take the jump to read more.

The 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship will mark the eighth consecutive year that the event has been held in Philadelphia and at Talen Energy Stadium. The annual event features the nation’s top 24 men’s collegiate rugby 7s teams, the top 16 women’s teams, a regional competition with a six-team field vying for a spot in next year’s main bracket; the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) national championship; and a national high school tournament with both boys’ and girls’ teams.

The three-day rugby event is one of the largest gatherings of collegiate and high school rugby teams in the world. Penn Mutual is in the fourth year of a title sponsorship for the event.

Leading the women’s national championship field this summer is defending women’s champion Life University, which captured the crown last June with a 17-12 victory over Lindenwood University.  Lindenwood also returns for the 2018 competition, along with Philadelphia-area favorites Drexel, Delaware, Penn State and Temple, as well as the women’s rugby 7s squads from Bloomsburg, Boston University, Clemson, Dartmouth, Kutztown, Navy, Notre Dame, Virginia, and Virginia Tech, and the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) Selects squad, an all-star team chosen from the best of NSCRO’s 7s teams.

The interest in Rugby Sevens (also known as Sevens Rugby) continues to grow after the return to the Olympic Games in 2016, following a 92-year hiatus. The Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship is America’s national sevens championship and serves as the centerpiece of a nationwide effort to build American rugby talent for competition on the International stage. Over the past eight years, the event has produced over 31 players who have gone on to play for the U.S. National teams.

1 comment: