Thursday, February 22, 2018

Northeast Academy Releases Squads For Vegas

Press Release

The Northeast Olympic Development Academy (ODA) has named its Men’s and Women’s squads to compete in the Las Vegas Invitational March 1-3, 2018. “In line with our mission of exposing established and developing players to the highest level of Sevens competition, the teams include a mix of experience and new blood”, said Academy Director John McGeachy, “and as always, we look forward to the competition”. In addition, the Northeast Academy will be entering a team in the High School Boys competition as part of the Community Olympic Development program (CODP) with PlayRugby USA.

The Men’s team, coached by Dom Wareing, sees a youthful group led by veterans Derek Lipscomb and Mike St.Claire of Old Blue but also featuring 5 players making their debut, Ludo Mukwaka (Boston), Arif Taruz (North Shore), Tyrell Moore (Village Lions), as well as a pair of athletes from the Buffalo area, Erik Peterson and Sean Porratta (both Rochester).

Take the jump to read more.
On the Women’s side, the Northeast will be bolstered by the return of USA Eagles Natalie Kosko and Sarah Buonapane and feature the core of a squad which has been developing nicely under the tutelage of Coach Ryszard Chadwick. Northeast Academy founder Steve Lewis will assist Chadwick in coaching duties and noted, “We are very proud of the progress the Women’s program has made in providing opportunity and pathways for our athletes and coaches over this last year, and they have responded by raising their individual and collective standards”. Lisa Roselin of New York will captain the team which includes one newcomer, her club teammate Justina DeBruzzi as well as representatives from Boston, Beantown and Old Blue. The management team is completed by Thomas Clark and Amy Beth Skenderian.

“We are also extremely grateful to new kit sponsors Paladin for their assistance and look forward to showcasing their quality products”, said McGeachy, “as well as our new tech partner SportsYou whose software platform will allow us to manage the communications and logistics of the team more efficiently”.

Women: Tahlia Brody, Sarah Buonopane, Jess Davis, Justina De Bruzzie, Natalie Kosko, Hannah Mackay, Deanna Nash, Lisa Roselin (C), Jennifer Salomon, Kristen Siano, Paige Stathopoulos, Claire Stingley

Men: Arif Taruz, Bobby McMahon, Derek Lipscomb, Erik Petersen, Jake Feury, Jimmy Sheridan, Ludo Mukwakwa, Mike St. Claire, Phil Salter, Sean Porrata, Tyrel Moore

No comments:

Post a Comment