Thursday, June 29, 2017

Eagles Name Starters For RWCQ Finale

Madison Hughes will see his first action for the Eagles this summer as the team readies for their Rugby World Cup qualifier decider on Saturday in San Diego. Hughes will line up at full back on a team that only sees a few changes.

In the backs Ryan Matyas will start on the wing alongside Mike Te'o. Matyas was to start their last week before going out with an illness. The rest of the backs remain the same with Nate Augspurger and Aj MacGinty at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively. Marcel Brache and Bryce Campbell's are the centers.

In the forwards the return to health of Chris Baumann and Tony Lamborn sees them back in the line up. Baumann will start alongside Tony Purpura at the props and James Hilterbrand at hooker. Lamborn will be at flanker alongside Todd Clever who also captains the team. Cam Dolan is the No. 8. In the locks Been Landry has been swapped for Nate Brakeley.

Take the jump to read more.
On the bench are Joe Taufete'e, who is also back to health, Ben Tarr, Dino Waldren, David Tameilau, John Quill, Andrew Durutalo, Shaun Davies, and Will Magie.

Forwards: Purpura, Hilterbrand, Baumann, Brakeley, Civetta, Clever, Lamborn, Dolan

Backs: Augspurger, MacGinty, Matyas, Brache, Campbell, Te'o, Hughes

Bench: Taufete'e, Tarr, Waldren, Tameilau, Quill, Durutalo, Davies, Magie


  1. Durutalo not on the field is a mistake.

  2. Durutalo cost us the game with shabby defense from the base of the scrum last week. Just saying...