Thursday, March 30, 2017

Canterbury, Red River Set For Big Weekend

TIAR with Red River press release info

With the help of Canterbury the Red River Collegiate Conference is set for a big weekend. Either Baylor or Louisiana State will take home the title as the two teams clash on Saturday in Austin. That match is just one part of a bigger day that will see teams like Arkansas, Texas, Texas Tech, Oklahoma, Texas A&M, and Houston go go head to head. Additionally, the match is being played at the home grounds of the Austin Huns which means that those attending will also be able to check out the Huns vs. Rugby Utah just before the Red River final.

Most of the tournament will be broadcast on YouTube starting at 9:00 a.m. central time. A special discounted ticket of $10 is available for all fans to experience this full day of exciting rugby play. A limited number of seats are available, so get them while you can. For interested patrons, just use the discount code RRRCC10 at checkout when you purchase online here. There is an additional $5 charge for parking on-site.

Take the jump to read more.

Various concessions will be also available all day at the field. Admission for children 14 and under is free, and Huns field continues to be one of the only pet-friendly sports facilities in the area. This great day of rugby creates a unique opportunity to enjoy the game for fans in Austin and the larger Central Texas region, as well as “rugby rookies” who want to learn more about the sport and local residents looking for a fun spring day outdoors in Austin.

9:00 a.m.: University of Arkansas vs. University of Texas (Field 1)
9:00 a.m.: Texas Tech University vs. University of Houston (Field 2) (not broadcast)
11:00 a.m.: 2nd XV Championship: University of Oklahoma vs. Texas A&M University
1:00 p.m.: 3rd place match: University of Oklahoma vs. Texas A&M University (Field 1)
1:00 p.m.: Austin Huns D3 vs. Ft. Hood (Field 2) (not broadcast)
3:30 p.m.: Austin Huns vs. Rugby UTAH
5:30 p.m.: Championship match: Baylor University vs. Louisiana State University

One of the premier collegiate rugby conferences in America, the Red River Rugby Collegiate Conference (RRRCC) consists of rugby teams from nine universities in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Louisiana. The conference competes in USA Rugby’s highest collegiate division D1A, whose winner is crowned the Collegiate National Champion. The RRRCC is divided into North and South Divisions, and the two divisions compete to represent the conference in the D1A national playoffs. The 2017 winners are Baylor University (north division) and LSU (south division).

No comments:

Post a Comment