Monday, October 3, 2016

World 7s Series Switching Placement Awards

The World Sevens Series is switching what they award the winners of each stop. Instead of the Shield, Bowl, Plate, and Cup as has been tradition tournaments will now fall in line with the Olympic model of awarding Gold, Silver, and Bronze to the top three teams. Here is the new order according to World Rugby:

"The traditional Cup, Plate, Bowl, and Shield winners format on the men's series will be replaced by two competitions. The top two teams in each pool will progress to the Cup competition and the chance to win a gold medal, while lower ranked teams will contest a new Challenge Trophy competition. The restructure means that each series event will climax with the 13th-place positional play-off, followed by the Challenge Trophy (ninth place), the fifth place play-off, bronze medal match and the gold medal match (Cup winners)"

The women's series will follow a similar pattern except without a 13th-place play-off (women's tournaments only have 12 teams).

No comments:

Post a Comment