Saturday, July 16, 2016

College All-Americans Name Tour Squad

Conor Kearns

College All-Americans head coach Gavin Hickie has named his tour squad for the team's upcoming trip to Australia and it's loaded with talent. Led by the likes of Dylan Audsley, Aladdin Schirmer, Deion Mikesell, Nick Boyer, and Cody Melphy the roster is ripe with up and coming talent that have either already been capped (Schirmer and Mikesell) or will likely be capped in the near future.

St. Mary's lead the way with five players on the team while BYU has four. There is also strong representation from Lindenwood and Life. Also on the team is Malon Al-Jiboori, who just spent a spell gaining experience down in Australia. PRO Rugby is represented on the team as well. Cody Jerabek from the Sacramento Express via the University of Wyoming and San Diego's Mason Pedersen, who played at Arizona and was a Junior All-American along with Al-Jiboori and Chance Wenglewski, are on the roster.

Take the jump to read more.

Another notable name is Conor Kearns, the lone overseas representative. Kearns has been a very steady presence for Trinity as they earned promotion to the top division in Ireland last season. He was a key player at fullback and has a great boot. The fact that he was once again willing to play for an American age-grade team is only a fantastic sign.

Overall, this is one of the strongest All-American sides in recent memory and they will have the opportunity to test themselves against good opponents down in Australia. The team will play the Darling Downs on August 6th (Australia time) followed by a match against Brisbane powerhouse Brothers on August 10th. They will then conclude their tour with a match against the Queensland Premier Barbarians on August 14th.

Squad: Malon Al-Jiboori (Lindenwood), Dylan Audsley (St. Mary's), Tanner Barnes (Central Washington), Niall Barry (UCLA), Alex Barton (St. Mary's), Roland Blackiston (CSU Long Beach), Zach Bonte (UCLA), Nick Boyer (Cal), Bryce Campbell (Indiana), Chad Gough (Utah), Wes Hartmann (Kutztown), Vili Helu (St. Mary's), Matt Jensen (BYU), Cody Jerabek (Sacramento Express/Wyoming), Tim Katz (James Madison), Conor Kearns (Trinity), Tua Laei (BYU), Alex Maughan (Life), Cody Melphy (Life), Deion Mikesell (Lindenwood), Kevin O'Connor (St. Mary's), Mason Pedersen (San Diego Breakers/Arizona), Mike Ruther (UMass-Amherst), Aladdin Schirmer (Central Washington), Alex Vorster (BYU), Dino Waldren (St. Mary's), Chance Wenglewski (Lindenwood), Calvin Whiting (BYU)

Coaching Staff: Gavin Hickie (head coach), Justin Hickey (manager), Greg McWilliams (assistant coach), James Willocks (assistant coach), Ben Schuler (athletic trainer)

No comments:

Post a Comment