Sponsor: Irish Rugby Tours

Sponsor: Nike Rugby Camps

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Nominations Opened

Press Release

The United States Rugby Foundation is accepting nominations for the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Class of 2016. The  nomination criteria are set forth below. Nominations for the Class of 2016 must be received by February 20, 2016.

The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame was founded in 2011 by the United States Rugby Foundation. To date, 36 individuals and two teams have been enshrined, including the Class of 2015: Tom Billups, Ed Burlingham, Bill Fraumann, Patty Jervey, Jeff Lombard, Don Morrison, Mickey Ording, Dick Poulson, Mike Purcell, Rudy Scholz, Emil Signes and Bob Watkins.

The Class of 2016 will be honored at the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner which will be held this Summer or Fall in conjunction with a high level rugby event. An announcement of this celebration will be made in the Spring of 2016.

Take the jump to read more.

The following criteria must be met for induction into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame:

1. Distinguished participation in or contribution to interscholastic, intercollegiate, amateur or professional rugby by a player, coach, referee, promoter, doctor, physio, sports media personality or journalist.

2. While each nominee's rugby achievements are the most important consideration, their conduct and record during and after the conclusion of their athletic endeavors will also be weighed.

3. Teams and groups are also eligible for nomination and will be considered based on the degree of difficulty of their achievement, the uniqueness of their achievement and whether or not their achievement is replicable by another.

Anyone may nominate a candidate for induction into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame. To be nominated, a candidate must be retired from participating in the game at the highest level they have achieved (e.g. International level) for three years before being considered. A written summary of the achievements of each nominated candidate must accompany each nomination. Nominations should state clearly what the nominee has achieved both on and off the field and the compelling reasons why the nominee should be elected for the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame.

Nominations should be sent to:
United States Rugby Foundation
Attn: U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame
2131 Pan American Plaza
San Diego, CA 92101

The United States Rugby Foundation Trustees will review the nominations and elect the new members of the Class of 2016 for the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame. There is no limit on the number of inductees but the Foundation’s target is to enshrine four to six new members each year.
Visit the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame at www.usrugbyhalloffame.org.

No comments:

Post a Comment